+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: international personnel managers.com scam

  1. #1
    New-mate is online now gCaptain Crew
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default international personnel managers.com scam

    I applied for a deckhand job with the add posted on gcaptain regarding cruise line work with the placement company internationalpersonnelmanagers.com and received and email stating that they had found three(3) companies interested in interviewing me and possibly hiring the email said i need and international background check. I went to the website that they gave me which instantly exuded a cheaply made vibe. The website then said it would be $150 per background check and was only payable by paypal. This began to smell a little fishy to me so i went to check out the companies website and low and behold it was created using the same cheap construction as the background check website. I believe it is a complete and utter scam. Does anyone have any information regarding this.
    Share on Facebook

  2. #2
    kevinburke is offline Just Browsing
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Spain or Florida, depending on whether my wife wants me home or working!
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    Hi New-Mate,
    Yes, looks like a scam or BS site to me too. I like the note on the bottom saying that they have "high paying" jobs in Mexico, Costa Rica, and Thailand. Would those be jobs for a Spring Break Bartender, Surf Instructor, or Beach Masseuse??!!

    I also saw the link somewhere on gCaptain, can't remember where, though. Looks pretty hokey so I doubt it will catch any of us . . .. . errrrr, I HOPE not, anyway!
    Cheers,
    Kevin
    Last edited by kevinburke; March 16th, 2010 at 04:56 AM.
    Share on Facebook

  3. #3
    10talents's Avatar
    10talents is offline Old Salt
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    483
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 5 Times in 2 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    PM Mikey or Tim with the link.
    10
    Share on Facebook

  4. #4
    Sea-K.'s Avatar
    Sea-K. is offline gCaptain Crew
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    13
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    Guess you beat me to the punch New-Mate. It started smelling fishy to me when they removed the job posting from the employment board. The generic-low-budget site didn't help their cause either. Did the e-mail look like this?



    You replied to our ad for cruiseline jobs,our company
    International Personnel Managers provides cruiseline staff to
    cruiselines in the United States and 12 foreign countries. Three(3)
    of our cruiselines after reviewing your resume are interested in
    hiring you,they are all paying $22.75 To 48.95 per hour plus cruise
    bonuses and have a standard benefits package,including housing on
    board and travel allowance . These jobs require international
    travel,so you will need to furnish your prospective employers with a
    International Background Report.The background report will be limited
    to major felonies(Class 1)so if you have minor issues in your past it
    won't be a problem.The background reports are done at Worldwide
    Research Associates.Com
    http://www.<WBR>worldwideresearchassociates.<WBR>com Below are your employer
    ID numbers you will need these when filling out the form at Worldwide
    Research Associates.Com.Your Employer ID Numbers = 239/21t/823 these
    indentify the employers so your background report and resume package
    can be sent to them.When you have completed the background report
    process,this brings you to the interview process.Two of the jobs are
    in Miami,Fl and one in San Diego,CA.Your interview will be conducted
    by phone,you will be notified by your prospective employers by email
    with the date and time of your interview.Ourservice is free to you,
    our fee is paid by the Employer so please notify us when you are hired
    so that we can confirm and bill the
    employer. Good Luck with your interview and upcoming job offer.

    Otto Nelson
    Manager/ Foreign Trades Jobs
    International Personnel Managers
    28 West 44th Street, Suite 704
    New York City,New York. 10001
    Share on Facebook

  5. #5
    New-mate is online now gCaptain Crew
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    yes that is the exact email word for word. It is such a terribly executed scam i hope no one falls for it.
    Share on Facebook

  6. #6
    Mikey's Avatar
    Mikey is online now Administrator
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    San Francisco, California, United States
    Age
    29
    Posts
    419
    Thanks
    44
    Thanked 40 Times in 21 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    The link was up for about 24 hrs before a member reported it and we took it down.

    The job listing was automatically fed to the gCaptain job board via indeed (I believe). All the jobs you see on the job board are listed free and/or automatically fed through RSS. We hope to direct sell in the future, but right now we just don't have the time or resources to do so - therefore you would see far fewer listings on there. We do however try to verify all listings as "real" and still open, but apparently some slip through the cracks.

    The good thing is I think everyone on here is smart enough to figure these scams out before they go posting there social security and cc #'s all of the web.
    --
    Mike Schuler
    Share on Facebook

  7. #7
    New-mate is online now gCaptain Crew
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Orange County, Ca
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    also if you look on google maps for the addresses given one of them is a tavern in NY and the other is by a monument in DC. I tried calling the number given and asked the operator if this was a scam he proceeded to say that they have been in business for 20 years... Ya right
    Share on Facebook

  8. #8
    Metalframer is offline Just Browsing
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    Yes but they still have postings for Construction Jobs State side and Overseas. I almost fell for it cause I haven't had steady work in a while. Thank Goodness I had the sense to do a little research on these two. I hope nobody falls for them. I wish I knew how to get their adds removed before some poor desperate for work person falls for them.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    The link was up for about 24 hrs before a member reported it and we took it down.

    The job listing was automatically fed to the gCaptain job board via indeed (I believe). All the jobs you see on the job board are listed free and/or automatically fed through RSS. We hope to direct sell in the future, but right now we just don't have the time or resources to do so - therefore you would see far fewer listings on there. We do however try to verify all listings as "real" and still open, but apparently some slip through the cracks.

    The good thing is I think everyone on here is smart enough to figure these scams out before they go posting there social security and cc #'s all of the web.
    Share on Facebook

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    East Village of New York City
    Age
    48
    Posts
    425
    Thanks
    14
    Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    44th street and 5th avenue 7th floor? hmmm... can't picture it but seems like a pretty high rent area for a job placement office.
    now, if they had listed anywhere way way west on 23rd street or way downtown (40 Broadway or 42 Broadway) or Bayonne NJ: sure.
    but 44th street & 5th avenue, right smack in midtown??? "FUH-GED-A-BOUD-IT"
    Share on Facebook

  10. #10
    jestage is offline Just Browsing
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Re: international personnel managers.com scam

    Just wanted to let you guys know the add is bullshit. I'm a plumber and I got the exact same job numbers. 239/21t/823. I googled the address and found this forum. If the wep page didn't look so shitty and the creator knew how to spell I might have fallen for it.
    Share on Facebook

+ Reply to Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Funny SCAM I saw
    By Seaman in forum Maritime Employment
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: December 9th, 2010, 08:41 AM
  2. Consilium.se looking for US personnel
    By Kingrobby in forum Maritime Employment
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: June 30th, 2010, 11:57 AM
  3. COI Personnel
    By Captmad in forum Professional Mariner Forum
    Replies: 37
    Last Post: December 28th, 2009, 06:08 AM
  4. Email Job Scam
    By Jeffrox in forum Professional Mariner Forum
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 12th, 2009, 09:37 PM
  5. REC personnel
    By Shellback in forum Maritime Training & Licensing
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: August 6th, 2009, 05:52 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0